District Competition and Updates

Hello Everyone,

Friendly Reminders and updates

  • Districts is on November 12th, Saturday… at John Hopkins Middle School in St.pete.
  • If you have not purchased your childs troupe shirt THEY NEED ONE FOR COMPETITION $10 or talk to me if you are unable to pay.
  • Day passes for parents may be bought at the door for $15, ( unless you sent your child with money- then I have already purchased you one.)
  • No children under 5 will be admitted
  • Your childs district fee covers entrance into thespian competition, district competition tshirt, and lunch.
    • Lunch will be a 6in sub  a bag of chips, and water.  ( first come first serve, I ordered ham, turkey and veggie ) If they would like more to eat please provide them with snacks and water for the day ahead.
    • Bring extra money for snacks or if you want to purchase any souvenirs.
  • As soon as I get the kids schedule and event times, I will post it… please print one out for yourself and get started planning your day. Please try to attend as many of our troupes events as possible so we can support each other.
  • Please be a support to all those performing we are there to have fun and build each others confidence. Due to taking 45 events we have multiple events going on at the same time such as costume design and a small group musical in another room so I will not be able to be in the room for every event. I am going to try to make everyones but due to time I know it will not be possible, but members of our troupe will split and be there to support you no matter what.🙂
  • Our uniform on competition day is the same things as our showcase, black pants and our troupe shirt and closed toe shoes. (leggings if dancing… make sure you look appropriate.) We want to dress to impress and show our confidence.
  • Please be prepared, have a copy of your music (if musical number) have a copy of your script ( if it is a scene), have all your tech pieces ready to go, extra props just incase (ms.K forgets anything…. with water to drink and appropriate shoes.  I am going to try my hardest to remember everything but sometimes things slip from my mind… please be responsible for your items as well.
    • Make sure all your items are laid out before competition the next day so you are not scrambling and nervous.
  • If students need to be car pooled, I need to know ASAP so i know how many volunteers that can drive… if you can drive or need a ride can you please COMMENT BELOW NOW (now lol so you don’t forget and then scroll back up to read the rest.) Drivers and kids that need rides lets meet at Publix at River Crossing ( I will let you know of a time when we get closer but ideally I am going to say 6:30am. This way we will leave no later than 6:45am to be in st.pete around 7:15am ish and the kids can find their rooms and get comfortable. I am running registration at districts so I may not be able to meet you all. I may have to be in St.pete earlier. If carpooling please comment on this or fb or email me. So I can start a list.
  • Chaperones, if you are able to help in the driving situation if would be greatly appreciated as well, Chaperones: you will also be getting a sub, chips and drink.
  • I am trying my hardest to keep everyone updated.
  • No flash photography or filming. This is very important, we will be kicked out if this happens.
  • If you have any questions please email: jkostopo@pasco.k12.fl.us

The following weekend will be our thespian showcase. Nov 17th we will have rehearsal in the theatre with the show on Nov. 18th @ 7pm. This is where you can film and take pictures of the students and we can showcase everyones hard work.

Thank you all:) Break legs!

Leave a comment